The cathedral of Pécs reached its current look in the 1880?s as the result of significant alterations. More than a thousand high quality stone carvings of the Romanesque era were discovered in the course of the process. The artefacts, uniquely fine in the Central European region, waited over a hundred years to be adequately presented. The Dome Museum designed for this purpose was eventually constructed behind the present cathedral, where the moat used to be before it was backfilled in the Baroque times. The museum building?s spatial structure comes from the characteristics of the location, while its building material is a real speciality: it is the Hungarian patent developed by Béla Sámsondi Kiss, plaster-cement. The stone walls of the facade looking over the church is a continuation of the castle wall, but a definite cleft expanding to the roof of the building provides a view of the cathedral to visitors, thus creating a visual link between the carvings and their former location. Even though most of the visitors arrive from this entrance, the real main entrance is located on the south facade with glass walls coloured Pompeii red behind a stone entrance and fence with Palladio motives. The carvings are displayed on simple metal stands in the two-storey exhibition space with a hall, therefore visitors can clearly see that the Romanesque main entrance was made of Roman gravestones.